MOUNT VERNON, Illinois. March 7, 2022 – The Illinois Oil & Gas Association (IOGA) celebrated the outstanding efforts of individuals and companies in the oil and gas industry during this Annual Convention & Trade Show at the Old National Event’s Plaza in Evansville, IN on March 2-4, 2022.

Over 450 oil and gas producers and suppliers from IL, IN and KY gathered to honor these individuals during the 3-day event of meetings, education, training and a trade show.

The 2021 Wildcatter of the Year was awarded to Gesell’s Pump Sales & Service, Inc. for making a significant new discovery in the Illinois Basin over the past year. IOGA also presented Brad Gesell with Gesell’s Pump Sales & Service, Inc., the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award for his lifetime of setting standards of excellences as a mentor and leader. Brad exemplifies the highest level of professionalism and dedication to the Illinois oil and gas industry.

“Brad Gesell and his team work hard to continue to find new discoveries in the Illinois Basin,” Jim Elder, Executive Director of IOGA said. “We’re excited to be able to honor them and have them as part of our association.”

Shawnee Exploration was awarded the 2020 Special Drilling Award for their activity efforts, application of technology and successes in the Illinois Basin. All of this in spite of the economic obstacles of the last two years.

“We are extremely proud and thankful we have so many individuals and companies who continuously go above and beyond for our industry,” said Elder.

The 2021 Service Person of the Year award was given to Robert Griggs with Griggs Company for his vast industry knowledge and contributions to the betterment of the Illinois oil and gas industry. The 2021 Petroleum Professional of the Year award was presented to Jim Brooker with Brookston Resources for his years of supporting, serving and enhancing the Illinois oil and gas industry. Joyce King from Stewart Producers, Inc was awarded the 2021 Administrative Excellence for her professional participation and support of the Illinois oil and gas industry.

2021 Petroleum Professional of the Year
Mike Payne (left), Jim Brooker
2021 Administrative Excellence
Robert Stewart (left), Joyce King, J. Nelson Wood
2020 Special Drilling Award
Brad Richards (left), Rick Marquardt
2021 Service Person of the Year
John Upcraft (left), Robert Griggs, Dale Helpingstine

2021 Wildcatter of the Year & 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award
Justin Gesell (left), Mark Gesell, Brad Gesell, Craig Hedin, and Jake Hahn